The committee is staffed, as necessary, by non-voting members who are contracted to carry out and/or support the work of the committee. The committee votes on issues within the scope of the objectives, the annual budget and work plan. The voting members have expertise in serving special populations, and a working knowledge of the system they represent (secondary education, post-secondary education, adult education or the public/private sector).

Leadership Team

The leadership team is composed of the committee co-chairs, project monitors (secondary, post-secondary), consultant and program coordinator. The team develops the meeting agendas, determine the time and location of the meetings. Additionally, the team drafts the work plan and activities and presents to the full committee for approval.


The committee elect co-chairs are two members; one from the California Community College and the other from California Department of Education. The co-chairs serve for a period of two years and may serve for more than one term. Co-chairs bring together the committee leadership team, facilitate committee meetings, appoint sub-committees as needed, contribute to plans for any workshops or conferences, and provide input to the end-of-year report.


The subcommittees is composed of members and “supporting members” who are assigned task in and are responsible for making recommendations to the advisory committee on specific areas related to the objectives and activities of the work plan. The subcommittee groups are Professional/Curriculum Development, Partnership Development, and Marketing.

Professional/Curriculum Development recommends webinars, conference themes and workshops.
Current team members:

Christine Boyton
Carmen Lamha
Daphne 'Kim' Sakamoto (Lead)
LaVonne Slaton
Don Isbell


Partnership Development For Equity recommends developing and sustaining membership engagement.
Current team members:

Windy Franklin
Robbie Kunkle
Adam Runyan
Freddy Saucedo
Susan Wheeler



Marketing recommends marketing outreach, website, and social media. Current team members:

Rosie Antonecchia
Sheryl Plumley
Leslie Aaronson

Committee Staff

The committee staff includes the project monitors from the California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office (CCCCO) and the California Department of Education (CDE), the fiscal agent's responsible administrator, and individuals contracted to carry out and/or support the work of the committee. The committee staff does not vote on issues before the committee.

Committee Meetings

The Committee meets three times per year in person and one meeting takes place near the end of the fiscal year by teleconference. Committee meetings are open to the general public. Persons interested in statewide efforts on behalf of special population students are welcome to attend, however, transportation and meal costs for the meetings will not be covered. Subcommittee work groups meet six times a by conference call.

Committee Outreach

Members, staff, and supporting members perform external outreach to market JSPAC, promote equity and access resources, such as the webinars, conference, website, workshops, and create and sustain relationships regionally, and statewide.

Equity is not equality – it is providing personalized support designed to mitigate social, cultural and environmental challenges encounted by all students. GEORGE ESSEL

All for Equity, and Equity for All.  Embrace Equity to Extend Equality.JAN SWINTON

Encouraging, demanding, and actively managing the participation of all students. CAROLYN ZACHRY

Equality welcomes everyone. No exceptions. Equity supports individuality. MAUREEN WHITE

Cultivating equity is every educators' personal responsibility.ELIZABETH WALLNER